Cultural tourism in
Russia > Rostov
region > Startocherkassk Historical-Architectural Reserve Museum
Startocherkassk Historical-Architectural Reserve Museum
Startocherkassk Historical-Architectural Reserve Museum founded on the initiative
of M.E. Sholokov in 1970 is located in the only unique architectural complex
of historical and cultural monuments of the Don Cossacks belonging to the
Cherkassk is the cradle of the Don people. Historians attribute the town
foundation to 1570. It was reinforced with ground walls, ramparts and guard
towers. Numerous ditches filled by vernal water made the town look picturesque,
it used to be called "the Don Venice".
In 1805 Chieftain Platov transferred the capital of the Don Cossacks' Army
into the city of Novocherkassk he had newly founded. General N. N. Raevsky,
who visited Cherkassk in 1820 wrote: "That city dismissed into a Cossack
village remains an eternal monument for Russians as well as for foreign travelers..."
Museum collection is impressive: repositories of weapons, portraits of the
Don chieftains, ethnographic collection represent the life of an ancient Cossack
settlement in the XV1II-XX centuries.
Numerous visitors of the museum have today a rare opportunity to combine
the examination of monuments and museum expositions in a live structure of
a Cossack settlement with recreation at the Don bank.
Tel: +7 (86359) 2-97-48, 2-98-33
Pochtovy per, Starocherkasskaya, Aksayski district, Russia, 346701